Skip to content

The Lego Movie (2014) Movie Review

February 8, 2014

After all the positive reviews I was ready to write a review similar to the one I read on Badass Digest, titled “I Really Wanted to Hate the Lego Movie.” The article explains all the reasons the author thought it was going to be stupid and he fell in love with it. Sadly, I can’t say the same thing. I was expecting the movie to be completely stupid and it largely was, but was still funny and witty enough at times that I don’t feel like I completely wasted my money. I haven’t really seen enough from this new wave of comedies to know if this is some separate style of comedy that I just don’t connect with. I do have a problem when the only reason I am laughing at something on screen is because the character is acting like an idiot.

The plot as generic as they come. Take every movie about an unexpected hero who saves the world and you have the plot of “The Lego Movie” minus the interesting twist at the end. What makes it unbearable is the painful dialog. I get that the movie is trying to parody this sort of film but rather than laughing at how witty the whole thing was, I just shook my head and felt embarrassed that I actually fell for the reviews praising this thing. Until I read the reviews I was ready to write this off as a pointless stupid film that was as dumb as the trailers, which made me shake my head. If you thought everything was awesome in the trailers from the start you might fall in love with this like everyone else.

Musically, I was expecting a lot more than the end result. I won’t blame Mark Mothersbaugh too much because the film he scored totally called for the throwaway score we get. Then again, if I actually thought the song “Everything is Awesome” was catchy, like every other review I’ve read, I might giggle at its re-appearance here and there in the music. To me that song was just as disgustingly trashy as the style of music it is trying to imitate. Mothersbaugh uses some different musical styles to fit the different worlds we get to see but mostly it sounds cheap, with any orchestra that he used barely getting heard among his cutsey synthesizers. I was hoping that this half-assed hero would get a nice heroic theme but it seems writing a score that sounds like it would fit the serious version of the film being parodied isn’t in style anymore.

Despite expecting this to be a total waste of time, I did get a few chuckles here and there. I also quite enjoyed seeing the Lego bricks come alive in 3D. There is something strangely intriguing about seeing Lego flames and Lego water throughout. I also thought the twist in the last act was quite brilliant. It almost redeemed everything that came before it. Sadly, this is still pretty much a children’s movie with a few little gags thrown in there for the adults, like “Wreck it Ralph” before it. As much as the critics like to give props for a few gems hidden in a kid’s movie, it seems their bar is a bit low for even this material. It might be miles ahead of a lot of the trash that passes for animated films these days but it isn’t going to be remembered as some stroke of genius.
3/5

From → Animated

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

